About the Eighth Circuit

The Eighth Judicial Circuit is one of twenty trial court circuits in the State of Florida.  The Circuit includes the counties of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy and Union Counties, and spans from the Gulf coast to the Georgia border.  The Eighth Circuit has thirteen circuit judges and ten county court judges, assisted by general magistrates and hearing officers in the adjudication and disposition of cases. More information on the structure of Florida's court system can be found here.

The Eighth Judicial Circuit is administered by the Chief Judge.  The Chief Judge is responsible to the Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court for the administration and supervision of the courts, judges, and officers of the courts within the circuit.  The Chief Judge is responsible for developing and implementing a plan for the efficient operation of the courts, providing for prompt disposition of cases, assignment of judges and staff, control of dockets, regulation and use of courtrooms, and review of the status of inmates detained in local jails.


Map of the Eighth Circuit